Fresh Plate

….Freshly prepared recipes, thoughts, and meditations

Tomato Mango Bruschetta

on July 10, 2012

Ok, I’ll confess: I’m a picky tomato eater! Thats right…I’ll hold out on fresh tomatoes (opting for canned all year long) until those few precious weeks during the summer when they are at the peak of homegrown ripeness. I have a special place in my heart for the heirloom varieties! I slice and season with just a drizzle of olive oil and a touch of salt and pepper.  They are a cool, fresh side at almost all of my meals during the hottest months of the year.

Sometimes I like to spoof ’em up a bit with a simple bruschetta. This is my version of the classic Italian dish. I’ve been putting mangoes in mine for as long as I can remember! Their sweetness tames the acidity of the tomatoes and is a compliment to the fresh basil.

Tomato Mango Bruschetta

Ingredients:

2 medium tomatoes (any variety, the tastiest you can find)

1 ripe mango

1/2 cup fresh basil leaves

1 clove garlic

3 T  balsamic vinegar

1/4 cup extra virgin olive oil

Salt/Pepper

Directions:

First, chop the tomatoes into small, bite sized cubes. Then, peel and chop mangoes into cubes (same size that you did with the tomatoes). If you don’t know how to cut up a mango, check out this link for instructions (http://www.simplyrecipes.com/recipes/how_to_cut_a_mango/).  Place tomatoes and mangoes into a large bowl.

Next, finely chop the basil into very thin ribbons and place into the bowl as well.  After that;  smash, peel, and finely mince the garlic before adding to the bowl. Drizzle in the vinegar, oil, and salt/pepper to taste. Gently fold all ingredients together, cover, and refrigerate until ready to use. It’ll keep for 3-4 days, and gets better with time as it macerates.

There are numorous options for serving. In my opinion, the best application is on grilled bread that has been sliced and rubbed with a bit of garlic. Sometimes I take it a step further and pile on top of grilled fish, chicken, or grilled pizza dough. And when I don’t have anything to put it on…I’ll add some cubed buffalo mozzarella and eat it as a side salad on its own!

 

Leave a Reply

